[자연과학대학 홈페이지 주소 변경] science.snu.ac.kr
제목 [신임교수 인터뷰] 생명과학부 마틴 스타이네거 교수님(생물정보학 연구)을 소개합니다!!
작성자 관리자 등록일 2020.05.11 조회수 9243

안녕하세요.

자연과학대학 학생홍보기자단 장유진 기자 입니다.

1. 자연과학대학의 신임 교수님으로 오시게 된 것을 진심으로 축하드립니다!

1. 1. 자연대의 새로운 교수님으로 오시게 된 것을 진심으로 축하드립니다! 새로 부임하신 만큼, 아직 교수님에 대해 잘 모르는 학생들이 많으리라 생각됩니다. 그런 학생들을 위해 본인을 간단히 소개해 주시길 바랍니다.

Thank you so much. I am Martin Steinegger from Germany and just started a computational biology lab at the Seoul National University. Actually, before considering to go to University I started my career as an IT consultant at Accenture. After a few years of industry experience, I decided to study bioinformatics at the TUM/LMU Munich because I was excited to combine informatics and biology. During this time, I worked as a research assistant with Professor Burkhard Rost at the Technical University Munich, focusing on the development of methods for predicting protein mutation effects. After finishing my bachelors. I switched to computer science at LMU for my masters. During my masters and PhD. I developed methods to search, cluster and assemble very large sequence data sets under the guidance of Dr. Johannes Söding at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry. As a Postdoc in the group of Professor Steven L. Salzberg at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, I developed methods for the identification of pathogenic agents in infectious diseases, the detection of assembly contamination in public datasets and the annotation of missing exons in the human proteome.

1. 2. 3월부터 서울대학교의 신임 교수님이 되신 소감이 궁금합니다.

This is not my first time at Seoul National University. I was already here from 2016 – 2018 for a collaboration. At that time, I already learned to greatly appreciate the academic environment. I am excited to be back and that I have the chance to do my research and teach at such a great university.

5. 3. 이제 서울대학교에서 새로운 연구실을 꾸려 나가시게 되실텐데, 교수님의 연구 분야와 앞으로 이곳에서 펼쳐나가실 연구 계획의 소개를 간단히 부탁드립니다.